Hop Harvest and Processing Safety Webinar – 13 Jan, 2015

Ontario hop growers may be interested in an upcoming webinar focused on hop harvest and processing safety:  “Your Lungs, Your Life:  Respiratory disease in hop growing and processing”

Date: 13 January, 2015
Time: 1 PM, Eastern Standard Time (10AM PST, 11AM MST, 12PM CST)
Hosts: Erin Lizotte and Rob Sirrine, Michigan State University Extension

Join us for this one-hour webinar with Carolyn Whitaker and Dr. Dave Bonauto from the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries Safety & Health Assessment & Research for Prevention (SHARP) Program.  In this webinar you will learn how to keep your lungs healthy while growing and processing hops.  We will cover what to watch for, when to see a doctor, hop jobs associated with respiratory disease, and what you can do to protect yourself and employees.

The SHARP Program is an occupational health research group interested in preventing workplace injuries and disease.  Carolyn Reeb-Whitaker (MS, CIH) has worked at SHARP as a certified industrial hygienist for the past 13 years.  She administers Washington’s work-related asthma surveillance program and holds a Master’s degree from the University of Washington. David K Bonauto (MD, MPH) is the research director at SHARP, where he has worked as an occupational medicine physician for the past 14 years.  He earned his MD degree from Columbia University in 1993.  His research interests include occupational surveillance, chemical related illness, injury epidemiology, and work-related musculoskeletal disorders.

No registration is required and the program is free.  Simply click the following link five minutes before the webinar is scheduled to begin https://connect.msu.edu/erinlizotte. Please sign in as a guest using your first name and state (or province) of residence.  You will need a computer with internet access, a web browser (e.g. Explorer, Safari) and speakers.  Don’t worry if you aren’t available on January 13th, we will record the webinar and make it available via hops.msu.edu.

This entry was posted in Hops, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s